Ritzy

Disney's FROZEN

 
 
I've been curios about this movie for quite some time now and I've seen some art work on Disney's studio website. I'm excited, or I was, until I saw how much this new character looks like Tangled's Rapunzel. Same design, just different hair. 
I'm having an inner conflict, I understand why they would want to use similar design out of an animators perspective. It's a huge time and money saver. But then again, Disney owns pretty much all of the larger film companies out they're, they loaded, they CAN afford to make a new design. But Tangled was a big hit so I understand if they would want to go for the same 'concept' as well, it's their ''safe card''. I think it's sad since they have so much time and money, they of all people should experiment and try new stuff.
Don't take me wrong, it sounds like I'm badmouthing Disney, I love Disney and I'd love to work with them one day. I just have to analyze it with the few clips and art work they went public with and so far I'm sad to say I'm not impressed.
 
 


"But it's winter landscape and theme isn't that's new?"
I'm sorry to say but no, they probably used the same enviroment from Tinkerbell's new movie 'Secret of the wings'. I'm not saying it's a bad thing to re-use earlier used material, but they should definitely remodule things so they look like something new and fresh. It somewhat like they have this box with toys, Andy's box of toys if you will, and they didn't really know what to make so they took Buzz and put on Woody's hat and tadaa new movie called space cowboy.
To make two "winter" movies after another makes me wonder if they got stuck in that concept.
And screw the nay sayers with PMS moms. They don't have to let the kids watch the movie if it's too stereotypical or ''brutal'' I'm never going to brainwash my kids with cartoons like Dora the explorer.
There's a reason for each character to act or look in a certain way. It's contrubiting to the story, a realistic kind of story so people can relate to each character in their own way. I understand that they should set an example of how they think a person should act, but they shouldn't make it too ''perfect'' since everyone have flaws, and you'll never be able to relate to that perfect person who never does anything wrong, or never fails at something. 
Also what's so wrong with wanting the girls to look feminin? There's nothing wrong with beauty. So what if it's media's type of beauty, Disney's atleast trying to keep their girls natural looking without layers and layers of make up.
I don't think it's anything wrong with my generation and upgrowth, so why sould I "save" my kids from the things I really enjoyed. It wasn't until recently that I re-watched Disney's older cartoons that me and my brother used to watch and I realized how foul language they use, or what they're really implying. It was things I never understood as a kid so I didn't really take it in. The things I didn't take in, or understand, I never really cared much about it. So what if there's some hints of adult humor in it, it should be a movie enjoyable for the whole family.
Well I'm getting off topic, how I'm going to raise my kids isn't really what this was all about!
 
I'm not going to say so much more about this movie since I haven't seen it yet, I can only analyze and asume things from the images and published material like this short trailer. 
I'm going to watch it, because it's never wrong to give it a chance.
 
 
Sourche's here and here
 

Comments


Comment post here: